infos & network

autism - what?

people on the autism spectrum live in a world of extremes. while interpersonal understanding takes a lot and active effort, there also exist increased sensitivities towards many sensory factors that are often only barely perceived by neurotypicals. these differences in perception are permanent and cannot be "repaired" - they are the result of a neurologically different structure of the brain.

depending on individual peculiarities as well as personal surroundings and life experiences, autists are challenged and burdened in different ways. in many cases they face strong anxiety, permanent stress, depression and loneliness.

especially people with aspergers, a less distinctive form of autism, still rarely get diagnosed or they receive inadequate and ineffective treatment for stress symptoms or receive diagnosis for various other disorders. we think that a correct diagnosis is an important step for improving people's selfperception and understanding of the world they live in. if you suspect to be on the spectrum yourself, we recommend doing one or more of the screening tests provided here.

 

for a pointed overview of the autism spectrum, we recommend to view these lectures by tony attwood published on youtube: could it be aspergers and could it be autism.

tell me more

there is a lot to say about autism - much more than we point out on our website. if you want to read into the topic, we especially recommend literature by tony attwood such as the complete guide to asperger's syndrome, which is internationally considered the benchmark publication on aspergers.

we also recommend the website embraceasd.com as a valuable ressource on autism in the internet.

our network

if you want to receive updates on our projects, please subscribe to our info letter by following this link here. or you can post the form below. you will continue to find us at rightplanet.net.

we are happy to receive input, support or proposals on cooperation!
please write rena kalter at rena@rightplanet.at.

infoletter signup

infos & netzwerk

autismus - was?

menschen im autismusspektrum leben in einer welt der extreme. während etwa zwischenmenschliches verstehen sehr viel und aktiven aufwand erfordert, besteht gesteigerte sensibilität vielen umwelteinflüssen gegenüber die neurotypische oft nur am rande wahrnehmen. diese wahrnehmungsunterschiede bestehen permanent und sind nicht "reparierbar" - sie begründen sich auf einer neurologisch abweichenden struktur des gehirns.

je nach ausprägung, umfeld und lebenserfahrung sind autisten unterschiedlich gefordert und belastet. in vielen fällen kämpfen sie mit angststörungen, permanentem stress, depression und einsamkeit. gerade asperger-autismus, eine weniger starke ausprägung der autismus-spektrums-störung, bleibt nach wie vor meist undiagnostiziert, oder es werden stresssymptome erfolglos behandelt und als anderweitige störungen klassifiziert. wir denken, dass die diagnose einen wichtigen schritt für ein besseres selbst- und weltverständnis darstellt.

 

für einen schnellen und trotzdem kompetenten überblick zum autismusspektrum empfehlen wir ihnen die auf youtube veröffentlichten vorträge could it be aspergers und could it be autism von tony attwood.

tell me more

zum thema autismus gibt es viel zu sagen - weit mehr als wir auf unserer seite ansprechen.

zur eingehenden beschäftigung mit dem asperger-syndrom empfehlen wir besonders literatur von tony attwood, etwa the complete guide to asperger's syndrome, das international als standardwerk gilt.

die konkrete anlaufstelle für autismus in österreich ist die autistenhilfe wien.

eine wertvolle ressource für autisten im internet ist die seite embraceasd.com. hier finden sie auch einige online-tests für eine einschätzung dazu, ob sie selbst auf dem spektrum angesiedelt sind. vorerst sind die meisten tests jedoch nur in englischer sprache verfügbar.

unser netz

wenn sie sich in unsere mailingliste eintragen möchten folgen sie bitte diesem link hier. oder senden sie die untenstehende anmeldung ab. sie finden uns weiterhin auf rightplanet.net.

wir freuen uns über input, unterstützung und kooperationsvorschläge! schreiben sie hierzu rena kalter unter rena@rightplanet.at.

infoletter signup

infoletter  |  etwas sagen  |  rena@rightplanet.at  |  impressum  |  datenschutz  |  © 2020 rena ka